

City of Albuquerque

Albuquerque/Bernalillo County Government Center One Civic Plaza Albuquerque, NM 87102

Minutes

2022 Redistricting Committee

District 1: Victor Segura, Dan Aragon (Alt.)
District 2: Keith Romero. Joaquin Baca (Alt.)

District 3: Cherise Quezada, Luis Hernandez Jr (Alt.)
District 4: Mark Reynolds, Rebecca Latham (Alt.)
District 5: Steve Smothermon, Robert Aragon (Alt.)
District 6: Cathryn McGill (Chair), Rosendo Najar (Alt.)

District 7: Travis Kellerman (Vice Chair), Heather Berghmans (Alt.)

District 8: David Buchholtz, Kevin Powers (Alt.)
District 9: Kenneth Pascoe, Thomas R. Stull (Alt.)

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

5:30 PM

Via Zoom Video Conference

Attendance: District 1: Victor Segura, Dan Aragon (Alt.)

District 2: Keith Romero, Joaquin Baca (Alt.)

District 3: Cherise Quezada, Luis Hernandez Jr (Alt.) District 4: Mark Reynolds, Rebecca Latham (Alt.)

District 5: Robert Aragon (Alt.)
District 6: Cathryn McGill (Chair)
District 7: Travis Kellerman (Vice Chair)
District 8: David Buchholtz, Kevin Powers (Alt.)
District 9: Kenneth Pascoe, Thomas R. Stull (Alt.)

Excused: **District 5: Steve Smothermon**

District 6: Rosendo Najar (Alt.) District 7: Heather Berghmans (Alt.)

The meeting is available via to watch YouTube: https://youtu.be/GWWC8TkgNJg

A. Approval of the April 6, 2022 meeting minutes (Cathryn MCGill, 3:07)

A motion to approve the minutes was moved by Quezada, and Second by Romero

For: All said AYE, no roll call per Chair

- B. Communications update (Julian Moya, 4:16)
- C. Socioeconomic data follow up from Research & Polling (Brittany Poss, 9:10)
- D. Committee discussion on any maps submitted via DistrictR in the written public comments (46:18)
- E. Public comment (1:04)
 - Use the "Raise your Hand" function in Zoom to indicate your interest in providing public comment
 - Public comment is limited to 2 minutes per speaker
- F. Committee discussion (1:25)

A motion to have the "as needed" meetings be a part of the process was moved by Aragon, Second by Romero (1:47)

For: Segura, Romero, Quezada, Reynolds, Aragon, McGill, Kellerman, Buchholtz, Pascoe (Passes 9-0)

A motion to have any additional maps from citizens be labeled as Citizen Map #1 etc., and that each additional map be properly vetted by Research and Polling and Staff before being publicized on the website and that map authors identify themselves and present maps at subsequent meetings was moved by Aragon, Second by Segura (1:52)

For: Segura, Romero, Quezada, Reynolds, Aragon, McGill, Kellerman, Buchholtz, Pascoe (Passes 9-0)

A motion to have SVI overlay by Research & Polling be included in the metrics on all maps was moved by Kellerman, Second by Romero (1:53)

For: Romero, Quezada, Reynolds, McGill, Kellerman, Buchholtz, Pascoe

Against: Segura, Aragon

(Passes 7-2)

NOTICE TO PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES: If you have a disability and require special assistance to participate in this meeting, please contact the Council Office as soon as possible before the meeting date at 505-768-3100. Those in need of hearing assistance may call 711.